BOARD OF ALDERMEN

ITEM NO. $\underline{E(1)}$

AGENDA ITEM ABSTRACT

MEETING DATE: May 7, 2002

TITLE: Appointments to Advisory Boards

DEPARTMENT: n/a	PUBLIC HEARING: YES NO _x
ATTACHMENTS: A. Resolution Making Appointments to Advisory Boards B. Resolution Requesting an Appointment to an ETJ Seat on the Planning Board C. Applications	FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Sarah Williamson, 918-7309

PURPOSE

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen will consider making appointments to the town's advisory boards.

INFORMATION

In February of each year some terms on all the town's advisory boards expire. Those persons whose terms expire in 2002 were notified that their terms were expiring and thanking them for their service. They were told that if they wished to be considered for re-appointment, that they should re-apply for service. In addition, all positions were advertised.

The following is a list of current advisory board vacancies, the names of applicants and recommended appointees: [Note: An asterisk (*) indicates the person is currently serving. The names in **bold** represent the appointees recommended by the chairs.]

BOARD	TYPE OF TERM	APPLICANTS
Board of Adjustment	ETJ (1 seat)	None
Board of Adjustment	In-Town (2 seats)	Britt Ludwig
		Greg Shepard*
		Richard Ellington*
		Shirley Marshall
Planning Board	In-Town (3 seats)	Rickie White
		Britt Ludwig
		Andrew Pearson
		Stan Babiss*
		Randee Haven O'Donnel*
Planning Board	Transition Area (1 seat)	None
Planning Board	ETJ (1 seat)	Dr. James Dingfelder
		Frank Hammill
Appearance Commission/ NPDC	N/A (5 seats)	Wendy Wenck*
		Charles Morton*

Transportation Advisory Board	N/A (3 seats)	Shelley Higgins Joseph LoBuglio Deborah Freed Elizabeth Shay* Chris van Hasselt* Heidi Perry David Bleicher Josh Steinhurst
Recreation and Parks Commission	In-Town (4 seats)	Marianne Nicholson*
Recreation and Parks Commission	Out-of-Town (2 seats)	James Kempe*
Cable T.V. Committee	N/A (3 seats)	Phyllis Holt Steve Small*
Cable T.V. Committee	Time Warner Rep. (1 seat)	Virginia Yopp*
Cemetery Commission	N/A (2 seats)	Wallace Womble* Boyd Ellington
Downtown Development Commission	N/A (5 seats)	Shelley Higgins Josie Hartman Deborah Rigdon Mitchell Virchick Andrew Pearson Peter Lee Paul McGinley Brian Plaster Mariana Fiorentino* James Morgan*
Environmental Advisory Board	N/A (3 seats)	Rickie White Joseph LoBuglio Scott Pohlman* Keith Burwell* Allen Spalt

The town staff will continue to advertise the remaining vacant seats.

ADMINISTRATION'S RECOMMENDATION

The administration recommends that the Board of Aldermen consider adopting the attached resolution (Attachment A) making advisory board appointments. In addition, the administration recommends that the Board consider adopting the attached resolution (Attachment B) requesting that the County Commissioners appoint Frank Hammill to an ETJ seat on the Planning Board.