BOARD OF ALDERMEN

ITEM NO. D(6)

AGENDA ITEM ABSTRACT

MEETING DATE: February 20, 2007

TITLE: Appointments to Advisory Boards

DEPARTMENT: n/a	PUBLIC HEARING: YES NO _x
ATTACHMENTS: A. Resolution Making Appointments to Advisory Boards B. Resolution Requesting an Appointment to the Carrboro Planning Board C. Summary of Applications from Chairs D. Applicants Recommended from Chairs E. Applications	FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Sarah Williamson, 918-7309

PURPOSE

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen will consider making appointments to the town's advisory boards. The town staff recommends that the Board adopt the attached resolutions.

INFORMATION

In February of each year some terms on all the town's advisory boards expire. Those persons whose terms expire in February 2007 were notified that their terms were expiring and thanking them for their service. They were told that if they wished to be considered for re-appointment, that they should re-apply for service. In addition, all positions were advertised.

The following is a list of current advisory board vacancies, the names of applicants and recommended appointees:

BOARD	TYPE OF TERM	APPLICANTS	RECOMMENDED APPOINTEES
Board of Adjustment	In-Town (4 seats)	Thomas Arnel Mark Brantley David Collins Catherine DeVine Robert Kirschner Sriv Navaratnam	(No recommendation available at this time.)
Board of Adjustment	Trans. Area (1 seat)	None	None
Planning Board	In-Town (3 seats)	Syed Alom Richard Bell Austin Brown James Carnahan Sharon Cook Chas Gaetner Jack Haggerty Robert Kirschner	Richard Bell James Carnahan Sharon Cook

		Sriv Navaratnam Steve Rose David Shoup Ande West	
Planning Board Appearance Commission/ NPDC	ETJ (1 seat) 3 seats	David Clinton Elizabeth Brisson	David Clinton (No recommendation available at this time.)
Transportation Advisory Board	1 seat	Daniel Amoni Austin Brown Stephen Clossick	Daniel Amoni
Recreation and Parks Commission	In-Town (5 seats)	William Allen Brenda Brown Dolores Clark Tania Duran-Eyre Jeannette Daum Betsy Marlowe Doris Murrell Emily Price	Doris Murrell
Recreation and Parks Commission	Out-of-Town (2 seats)	Mark Marcopolos	Mark Marcopolos
Recreation and Parks Commission	School Rep. (1 seat)	None	None
Cable T.V. Committee	5 seats	None	None
Human Services Commission	1 seat	Lisa Mason Joyce Beekman Susan Siegel	Joyce Beekman
Cemetery Commission	5 seats	None	None
Economic Sustainability Commission	 Resident (1 seat) At-Large (1 seat) Business Owner (1 seat) 	Eleanor Kinnaird Peter Lee Margot Lester Lisa Mason Katrina Ryan Ruffin Slater Mitchell Virchick	Peter Lee (resident) Eleanor Kinnaird (atlarge) Ruffin Slater (business owner)
Environmental Advisory Board	2 seats	Carly Apple Andreas Hay Ryan Elting	(No recommendation available at this time.)
Arts Committee	3 seats	Maggi Grace Michael Maher	Maggi Grace Michael Maher

The town staff will schedule additional appointments at a later date for remaining vacancies upon receipt of recommendations from advisory board chairs.

The Advisory Boards Recognition Dinner is scheduled for April 26th at which time retiring advisory board members will be recognized for their service to the town.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

The town staff recommends that the Board of Aldermen adopt the attached resolution making advisory board appointments, and the resolution recommending that the Orange County Board of Commissioners re-appoint David Clinton to an ETJ seat on the Planning Board.