BOARD OF ALDERMEN

ITEM NO. D(4)

AGENDA ITEM ABSTRACT

MEETING DATE: March 4, 2008

TITLE: Appointments to Advisory Boards

DEPARTMENT: n/a	PUBLIC HEARING: YES NO _x
 ATTACHMENTS: A. Resolution Making Appointments to Advisory Boards B. Resolution Requesting an Appointment to the Carrboro Planning Board C. Summary of Applications from Chairs D. Applicants Recommended from Chairs E. Applications 	FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Sarah Williamson, 918-7309

PURPOSE

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen will consider making appointments to the town's advisory boards. The town staff recommends that the Board adopt the attached resolutions.

INFORMATION

In February of each year some terms on all the town's advisory boards expire. Those persons whose terms expire in February 2008 were notified that their terms were expiring and thanking them for their service. They were told that if they wished to be considered for re-appointment, that they should re-apply for service. In addition, all positions were advertised.

The following is a list of current advisory board vacancies, the names of applicants and recommended appointees:

BOARD	TYPE OF TERM	APPLICANTS	RECOMMENDED APPOINTEES
Board of Adjustment	In-Town (2 seats)	Robert Kirschner Sriv Navaratnam	Robert Kirschner Sriv Navaratnam
Board of Adjustment	ETJ (1 seat)	None	None
Planning Board	In-Town (4 seats)	David Shoup Isabelle Kalmanides Damon Seils Chuck Morton Debra Fritz Rose Warner Seth Chadbourne	Debra Fritz Seth Chadbourne Damon Seils Rose Warner (unexpired term)
Planning Board	Transition Area (1) seat)	Susan Poulton	Susan Poulton

Appearance Commission/ NPDC	7 seats	Thomas Wiltberger	
Transportation Advisory	3 seats	Sarah Sizemore	Heidi Perry
Board		Charlie Hileman	John O'Leary
		John O'Leary	Charlie Hileman
		Heidi Perry	
Recreation and Parks	■ In-Town (3 seats)	Sarah Andrews	
Commission	Out-of-Town (2	Marianne Nicholson	
	seats)	Eric Allman	
	School Rep. (1	Tom Hoban	
	seat)	David Dirito	
Cable T.V. Committee	7 seats	None	None
Human Services	3 seats	Audrey Layden	Audrey Layden
Commission		David Harrison	David Harrison
		Beth Burke	Beth Burke
Cemetery Commission	5 seats	None	None
Economic Sustainability	At-Large (2 seats)	Katrina Ryan	Stan Babiss
Commission	_	Mitchell Virchick	Alena Callimanis
		Stan Babiss	
		Thomas Mullen	
		Alena Callimanis	
		Leif Forer	
Environmental Advisory	3 seats	Thomas Mullen	Jennifer Everett
Board		Randi Smith	
		Jennifer Everett	
Northern Transition Area	■ 1 Carrboro Rep	Susan Poulton	
Advisory Board	■ 3 Orange County	Brian Decker	
	Rep.	Jay Bryan	
Arts Committee	5 seats	Paedra Kelly	Jacqueline Helvey
		Robert Walton	
		Andrea Swan	
		Sarah Andrews	
		Jacqueline Helvey	
		Tom Hoban	
		Neal McTighe	

The town staff expects additional recommendations for appointments and the Board will be requested to make additional appointments at a later date.

The Advisory Boards Recognition Dinner is scheduled for Thursday, April 24th at which time retiring advisory board members will be recognized for their service to the town.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

The town staff recommends that the Board of Aldermen adopt the attached resolution making advisory board appointments, and the resolution recommending that the Orange County Board of Commissioners re-appoint Susan Poulton to a Transition Area seat on the Planning Board.