BOARD OF ALDERMEN

ITEM NO. (1)

AGENDA ITEM ABSTRACT MEETING DATE: February 9, 2010

TITLE: Discussion of Advisory Board Appointments

DEPARTMENT: n/a	PUBLIC HEARING: YES NO _ <u>x</u>
ATTACHMENTS: A. Summary of Applications from Chairs	FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Sarah Williamson, 918-7309

PURPOSE

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen will discuss appointments to the town's advisory boards. The town staff asks for direction on these appointments.

INFORMATION

In February of each year some terms on all the town's advisory boards expire. Those persons whose terms expire in February 2010 were notified that their terms were expiring and thanking them for their service. They were told that if they wished to be considered for re-appointment, that they should re-apply for service. In addition, all positions were advertised.

The following is a list of current advisory board vacancies and the names of all applicants:

BOARD	TYPE OF TERM	TERM EXPIRATION	APPLICANTS
Board of Adjustment	In-Town (2 seats)	2/2010	David Collins Tom Arnel
Board of Adjustment	Transition Area (1 seat)	2/2010	John Gant
Board of Adjustment	ETJ (1 seat)	2/2011	None
Planning Board	In-Town (3 seats) In-Town (2 seats)	2/2010 2/2012	Matthew Barton Marc Desormeau Lee Hyde Tamara Oxley Robert Williams
Planning Board	ETJ (1) seat)	2/2010	David Clinton
Appearance Commission/ NPDC	1 seat	2/2010	None
Transportation Advisory Board	1 seat	2/2010	Neal Mochel Anthony Pergolotti Brendan Watson
Recreation and Parks Commission	In-Town (3 seats) In-Town (1 seat)	2010 2011	Steve Wall Nora Shepard
	In-Town (1 seat)	2012	Anthony Pergolotti

			Brendan Watson
Recreation and Parks	Out-of-Town (1 seat)	2010	None
Commission	Out-of-Town (1 seat)	2011	
Human Services	2 seats	2010	Joyce Beekman
Commission			Eleanor Blake
Economic Sustainability	Resident (1 seat)	2010	Stephen Jenks
Commission	At-Large (1 seat)	2011	David Jessee
	Business Owner (2 seats)	2010	Peter Lee
			Jennifer McMillan
			Bob Saunders
			Robert Williams
Environmental Advisory	2 seats	2010	Anthony Pergolotti
Board			Nora Shepard
			Steve Wall
			Brendan Watson
Arts Committee	3 seats	2010	Maggi Grace
			Hassan Melehy
			Bob Saunders
Greenways Commission	Morgan Creek Valley	7/2009	Johnny Randall
	Alliance (1 seat)		
Greenways Commission	CH-Carrboro City	7/2009	Gary Junker
	Schools (1 seat)		
Greenways Commission	At-Large (1 seat)	7/2009	Marc Desormeau
	At-Large (1 seat)	7/2011	Casey Dillon
			Robert Kirschner
			Neal Mochel
			Bruce Sinclair

Note: The Advisory Boards Recognition Dinner is scheduled for Thursday, May 6th at which time retiring advisory board members will be recognized for their service to the town.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

The town staff recommends that the Board of Aldermen give staff direction on these advisory board appointments.