AGENDA ITEM ABSTRACT MEETING DATE: February 21, 2012

TITLE: Discussion of Advisory Board Appointments

DEPARTMENT: n/a	PUBLIC HEARING: NO
ATTACHMENTS: A. Resolution B. Summary of Applications from Chairs* and Advisory Board Votes for Greenways Commission Representatives C. Current List of Advisory Board Members	FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Cathy Wilson, 918-7309

PURPOSE

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen will discuss appointments to the Town's advisory boards. Town staff asks for direction on these appointments.

INFORMATION

In February of each year some terms on all the Town's advisory boards expire. Those persons whose terms expire in February 2012 were notified that their terms were expiring and thanking them for their service. They were told that if they wished to be considered for re-appointment, that they should re-apply for service. In addition, all positions were advertised. Chairs have provided summaries of the applications.

*Please note that the Human Services Commission does not currently have a chair and a summary of the applications is not attached. The chair of the Appearance Commission did not submit a summary form.

The following is a list of current advisory board vacancies and the names of all applicants:

BOARD	TYPE OF TERM	TERM EXPIRATION	APPLICANTS
Board of Adjustment	In-Town (3 seats)	2/2015	Richard Ellington Catherine DeVine Joseph W. Collins
Board of Adjustment	ETJ (1 seat)	2/2014	None
Planning Board	In-Town (4 seats)	2/2015	Steve Pickett Debra Fritz Adam Schaefer Braxton Foushee Jessica Ferrer Richard Jaimeyfield
Appearance Commission/ NPDC	5 seats	2/2014 (2 seats) 2/2015 (3 seats)	Sarah Andrews Raymond Conrad (application submitted 2/14/12)

Transportation Advisory Board	1 seat	2/2015	Seth LaJeunesse
Recreation and Parks Commission	In-Town (4 seats)	2/2013 (1 seat) 2/2014 (1 seat) 2/2015 (2 seats)	Jennifer Maynard Cassandra Hayne Eric Allman Victoria deNay Doris Murrell (application received 2/17/12)
Recreation and Parks Commission	Out-of-Town (1 seat)	2/2013	None
Recreation and Parks Commission	School Representative	2/2015	None
Human Services Commission	3 seats	2015	Daniel J. Graubman Patricia G. Young Mari Gordan Weiss
Economic Sustainability Commission	Downtown Resident (1 seat) At-Large (1 seat) Business Owner (1 seat)	2/2015 2/2015 2/2015	Sarah Blacklin Arthur (Beven) Ramsey Christopher Butler (Submitted 11/11/11 – received 2/14/12)
Environmental Advisory Board	2 seats	2/2015 (2 seats)	Matthew Arnsberger Mikey Goralnik Geoff Gisler Errol T. McCauley, Sr. (Application submitted 2/10/12)
Arts Committee	2 seats	2/2015	Clara A. Jackson Chris Beacham Jon Ross
Arts Committee	ArtsCenter Rep.	2/2015	None
Greenways Commission	TAB Rep.	7/1/2014	Linda Haac**
Greenways Commission	EAB Rep.	7/1/2013	Rob Crook**

^{**} Applicant recommended by a majority vote from their current advisory board.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Town staff recommends that the Board of Aldermen consider the applications for appointment and take action on the resolution.