A worksession of the Carrboro Board of Aldermen was held on Tuesday, February 9, 2010 in the Board Room of the Carrboro Town Hall.

Present and presiding:

Mayor Mark Chilton
Aldermen Joal Hall Broun

Dan Coleman Jacquelyn Gist

Randee Haven-O'Donnell

Lydia Lavelle Sammy Slade

Town Manager Steven E. Stewart
Town Clerk Sarah C. Williamson
Town Attorney Michael B. Brough

DISCUSSION OF ADVISORY BOARD APPOINTMENTS

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen discussed appointments to the town's advisory boards.

MOTION WAS MADE BY DAN COLEMAN AND SECONDED BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL TO APPOINT DAVID COLLINS AND TOM ARNEL TO IN-TOWN SEATS ON THE BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

The following resolution was introduced by Alderman Dan Coleman and duly seconded by Alderman Randee Haven-O'Donnell

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING AN APPOINTMENT TO A TRANSITION AREA SEAT ON THE CARRBORO BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT Resolution No. 96/2009-2010

WHEREAS, as a result of a term expiration, it is necessary to appoint a person to a seat reserved on the Carrboro Board of Adjustment for persons residing within the town's Transition Area; and

WHEREAS, by state statute and town ordinance, the Orange County Board of Commissioners initially has the authority and responsibility to appoint Transition Area members to the town's Board of Adjustment.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN OF THE TOWN OF CARRBORO RESOLVES:

Section 1. The Orange County Board of Commissioners is respectfully requested to appoint the following individual to a Transition Area seat on the Carrboro Board of Adjustment, whose term will expire in February 2010:

Mr. John Gant 1004 Karen Woods Road Chapel Hill, N.C. 27516 Section 2. If the Orange County Board of Commissioners fails to appoint persons willing to serve in the capacity described above within 90 days after receiving this resolution, then the Carrboro Board of Aldermen may make this appointment.

Section 3. The Town Clerk shall send a copy of this resolution to the Orange County Board of Commissioners.

Section 4. This resolution shall become effective upon adoption.

The following resolution having been submitted to a vote received the following vote and was duly adopted this 9th day of February 2010:

Ayes: Dan Coleman, Sammy Slade, Lydia Lavelle, Mark Chilton, Joal Hall Broun, Jacquelyn Gist, Randee

Haven-O'Donnell

Noes: None

Absent or Excused: None

MOTION WAS MADE BY DAN COLEMAN AND SECONDED BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL TO MAKE THE FOLLOWING APPOINTMENTS TO THE PLANNING BOARD:

APPOINTEE	TYPE OF SEAT	TERM EXPIRATION
Matthew Barton	In-Town	2/2013
Tamara Oxley	In-Town	2/2013
Amber Wagner	In-Town	2/2013
Robert Williams	In-Town	2/2012

VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

The following resolution was introduced by Alderman Dan Coleman and duly seconded by Alderman Randee Haven-O'Donnell.

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING AN APPOINTMENT TO THE CARRBORO PLANNING BOARD Resolution No. 97/2009-2010

WHEREAS, as a result of the expiration of a term, it is necessary to appoint a person to a seat reserved on the Carrboro Planning Board for persons residing within the town's Extraterritorial Planning Jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS, by state statute and town ordinance, the Orange County Board of Commissioners initially has the authority and responsibility to appoint Extraterritorial Planning Jurisdiction members to the town's Planning Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE BOARD OF ALDERMEN OF THE TOWN OF CARRBORO RESOLVES:

Section 1. The Orange County Board of Commissioners is respectfully requested to appoint the following individual to an ETJ seat on the Carrboro Planning Board:

David Clinton (term expiration: 2/2013) 106 Fox Run

Section 2. If the Orange County Board of Commissioners fails to appoint persons willing to serve in the capacities described above within 90 days after receiving this resolution, then the Carrboro Board of Aldermen may make these appointments.

Section 3. The Town Clerk shall send a copy of this resolution to the Orange County Board of Commissioners.

Section 4. This resolution shall become effective upon adoption.

The following resolution having been submitted to a vote received the following vote and was duly adopted this 9th day of February 2010:

Ayes: Dan Coleman, Sammy Slade, Lydia Lavelle, Mark Chilton, Joal Hall Broun, Jacquelyn Gist, Randee

Haven-O'Donnell

Noes: None

Absent or Excused: None

MOTION WAS MADE BY DAN COLEMAN AND SECONDED BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL TO APPOINT ANTHONY PERGOLOTTI TO THE TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY BOARD. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY JOAL HALL BROUN AND SECONDED BY DAN COLEMAN TO APPOINT STEVE WALL AND BRENDAN WATSON TO IN-TOWN SEATS ON THE RECREATION AND PARKS COMMISSION—TERM EXPIRATIONS FEBRUARY 2013. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY DAN COLEMAN AND SECONDED BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL TO APPOINT JOYCE BEEKMAN AND ELEANOR BLAKE TO THE HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY DAN COLEMAN AND SECONDED BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL TO MAKE THE FOLLOWING APPOINTMENTS TO THE ECONOMIC SUSTAINABILITY COMMISSION:

APPOINTEE	TYPE OF SEAT	TERM EXPIRATION
Bob Saunders	Resident	February 2013
Peter Lee	At-Large	February 2011
Jennifer McMillan	Business Owner	February 2013
David Jessee	Business Owner	February 2013

VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL AND SECONDED BY DAN COLEMAN TO APPOINT NORA SHEPARD AND LYNN WELLER TO THE ENVIRONMENTAL ADVISORY BOARD. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL AND SECONDED BY DAN COLEMAN TO APPOINT MAGGI GRACE AND HASSAN MELEHY TO THE ARTS COMMITTEE. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY RANDEE HAVEN-O'DONNELL AND SECONDED BY JOAL HALL BROUN TO MAKE THE FOLLOWING APPOINTMENTS TO THE GREENWAYS COMMISSION:

APPOINTEE	TYPE OF SEAT	TERM EXPIRATION
Johnny Randall	Morgan Creek Valley Alliance	July 2012
Robert Kirschner	At-Large	July 2012
Gary Junker	At-Large	July 2011

VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY JOAL HALL BROUN AND SECONDED BY DAN COLEMAN TO REVISE THE GUIDELINES FOR SELECTING ADVISORY BOARD AND COMMISSION MEMBERS, SECTION 1(e) TO REMOVE REFERENCE TO THE CABLE T.V. COMMITTEE AND CEMETERY COMMISSION, AND THAT DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION BE CHANGED TO ECONOMIC SUSTAINABILITY COMMISSION. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

MOTION WAS MADE BY DAN COLEMAN AND SECONDED BY JACQUELYN GIST TO ADJOURN THE MEETING AT 7:55 P.M. VOTE: AFFIRMATIVE ALL

	Mayor	
	Mayor	
Town Clerk		